Jamshedpur FC announces the squad for Durand Cup 2023


The Indian Army on behalf of the Three Service Chiefs is all set to host the 132nd Durand Cup Football Tournament, the third oldest football competition in the world from 3rd August to 3rd September 2023.

The Durand Cup will be a 24-team competition divided into six groups. Jamshedpur FC will compete in Group B with Mumbai City FC, Mohammedan Sporting & Indian Navy. The venue for Group B is Kolkata and the matches will be distributed between the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan and Mohun Bagan Ground.

The team will play under the guidance of Steven Dias, the Head Coach for this tournament, who highlighted the importance of the Durand Cup in the development of the squad. He added by saying, "The team will get better exposure through this tournament as most of the ISL teams and I-League clubs will be participating. The players will benefit immensely with the competition they will face and it will give them a good opportunity to understand their personal attributes in the game."

Chief Executive Officer, Mukul Choudhari added - "Durand Cup is one of the oldest club competitions and we are extremely happy that it kicks off soon. Jamshedpur FC Reserves will be proud to participate in the competition and this will give us another chance to showcase our young talent and to measure their development against top teams in the country. We would like to wish the team the very best for the competition."

Scott Cooper, Head Coach of Jamshedpur FC said - "The young lads going for the Durand Cup can look at this as an opportunity to showcase their potential to play against the top teams in India and show us the zeal that they are ready to step up for first team football. I wish them all the best for their games ahead."

The matches will be telecast live on the Sony Sports Network and online platform Sony LIV. Jamshedpur FC's first match will be against Mumbai City FC on August 8 at Yuba Bharati Krirangan, Kolkata.

Here is the squad that will head to the City of Joy to compete in the Durand Cup 2023:

1. Mohit Singh Dhami
2. Ayush Jena
3. Luckystar Lawai
4. Raj Boro

5. Johnson Mathews
6. Pallujam Rohan Singh
7. Sairem Sital Singh
8. Rosangzuala
9. Zonunpuia
10. Kishan Sardar
11. Meraimayum Raju

12. Moirangthem Marjit Singh
13. Phijam Vikas Singh
14. Sekh Sahil
15. Armash Ansari
16. Ashley Koli
17. Amzard Khan
18. Mohammad Sanan K
19. Asem Maingou Singh
20. Bhaskar Chhetri
21. Chawngthu Lalriathpuia
22. Ningthoujam Mahesh Singh
23. Laishram Rameshor Meetei
24. Sonam Tsewang

25. Bivan Jyoti Laskar
26. Sadhu Marndi
27. Alvies Bastin

Your Comments